Users' questions

What power does the Governor-General have?

What power does the Governor-General have?

Section 61 of the Constitution states two principal elements of executive power which the Governor-General exercises, namely, the execution and maintenance of the Constitution, and the execution and maintenance of the laws passed (by the Parliament) in accordance with the Constitution.

Is the governor general allowed to vote?

“In a federal election and state or territorial election does the governor-general have to vote?” By convention—tradition—, the Governor-General does not vote. The Governor-General or his Official Secretary writes to the Electoral Commissioner to confirm that the Governor-General won’t vote and this is accepted.

What is the prime minister the head of?

A prime minister is the head of the cabinet and the leader of the ministers in the executive branch of government, often in a parliamentary or semi-presidential system.

What is the job of the Governor General?

The role of the governor-general is of a de facto head of state carrying out the ceremonial day-to-day duties on behalf of the Queen such as appointing ministers, ambassadors, and judges on the advice of a prime minister and giving Royal Assent to legislation.

Why is the Governor General important?

The Governor-General is the guardian of the constitution with respect to government ministers, on behalf of the people. This is the most important function of the role. It ensures the stability of government, irrespective of which political party is in power. It ensures the legality of government.

What does Governor General mean?

governor general. gov·er·nor-gen·er·al. noun. pl. governors general or governor generals. a governor who has subordinate or deputy governors, specif., one who is appointed by the British sovereign, as in some countries of the Commonwealth .

Who is the general governor?

The current governor general is David Lloyd Johnston, who has served since 1 October 2010; Prime Minister Stephen Harper recommended him to succeed Michaëlle Jean.

Share this post