Which is the capital city of Maharashtra?

Which is the capital city of Maharashtra?

Mumbai (also known as Bombay, the official name until 1995) is the capital city of the Indian state of Maharashtra. Mumbai lies on the Konkan coast on the west coast of India and has a deep natural harbour.

Is Maharashtra a state or a province?

Location: Asia
Indépendence August 15th, 1947
Divisions 28 states, 7 territories

What is the capital of Maharashtra in English?

Thus Maharashtra is a Marathi linguistic state. The state is divided into 6 divisions and 36 districts, with the state capital being Mumbai, also the most populous urban area in India and Nagpur serving as the winter capital….

Capitals Mumbai Nagpur (Winter)
Largest city Mumbai
Districts 36

What are provinces in Maharashtra?

Regions and Divisions

  • Konkan – (Konkan Division)
  • Paschim Maharashtra also known as Desh – (Pune Division)
  • Khandesh – (Nashik Division)
  • Marathwada – (Aurangabad Division)
  • Vidarbha – (Nagpur and Amravati divisions) – formerly part of (Central Provinces and Berar)

What is the other name of Maharashtra?

Demands by the two language groups that the state be divided into two parts resulted, on May 1, 1960, in the creation of Gujarat in the north and the newly renamed Maharashtra in the south. Bombay, remaining part of Maharashtra, became the new state’s capital. The city’s name was changed to Mumbai in the mid-1990s.

Is Mumbai a province?

Bombay State

Province of Bombay (1947–1950) State of Bombay (1950–1960)
Bombay state in red
Capital Bombay (15 August 1947 to 1 May 1960)
• 1956 494,358 km2 (190,873 sq mi)

Which is called heart of India?

Delhi: The heart of India.

Share this post