Can you go to jail for using ecstasy?

Can you go to jail for using ecstasy?

If you are caught illegally possessing ecstasy, you could face a series of legal consequences including arrest, jail time, a life-long criminal record and financial penalties. Possession of 3,4-Methyl​enedioxy​methamphetamine (MDMA), also known as ecstasy, in any form is illegal.

How much is ecstasy in Michigan?

Ecstasy use is a misdemeanor charge, and could result in a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of ecstasy, however, is a felony charge, and could result in a jail sentence of up to 10 years along with significant fines, according to the Michigan Penal Code (333.7403).

Is ecstasy illegal in Maryland?

Maryland criminalizes the possession of ecstasy and other drugs. As with federal charges, ecstasy is classified as a Schedule I controlled dangerous substance in Maryland. Under these laws, it is illegal to possess, administer, obtain, or attempt to control ecstasy.

How long do you go to jail for drug possession in Maryland?

Possession of drugs carries a potential 4 year prison sentence and fines reaching $25,000.

Is possession of CDS a felony in Maryland?

Under Maryland law a charge of Possession of C.D.S. Despite these differences in the potential amount of jail time, based upon the number of prior convictions, simple possession is considered a misdemeanor in the Maryland state court system.

Is possession a felony in Maryland?

Penalties of Drug Possession in Maryland In Maryland, a person who is found to be in possession of any drug other than marijuana faces a felony charge. A conviction of drug possession can carry a potential prison sentence of four years, and it can carry a fine of up to $25,000.

What determines intent to distribute?

Under this element, the government must prove what the person possessing the drugs was planning to do with them. Typically, the intent to distribute, or sell, the controlled substance is assumed when the accused is holding an amount too large to be for only personal use. …

What does CDS stand for drugs?

Controlled Dangerous Substances
DEA Controlled Dangerous Substances (CDS) Many of the narcotics, synthetic steroids, depressants, and stimulants manufactured for legitimate medical use are subject to abuse and have, therefore, been brought under legal control.

How much time do you get for intent to distribute in Maryland?

five years
Penalties for Possession with the Intent to Distribute in Maryland. In Maryland, possession of marijuana of 50 pounds and less, with the intent to distribute, carries a maximum penalty of five years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000.

How do indictments work?

When a person is indicted, they are given formal notice that it is believed that they committed a crime. The grand jury listens to the prosecutor and witnesses, and then votes in secret on whether they believe that enough evidence exists to charge the person with a crime.

Share this post