Has any president ran twice?

Has any president ran twice?

Stephen Grover Cleveland (March 18, 1837 – June 24, 1908) was an American lawyer and politician who served as the 22nd and 24th president of the United States from 1885 to 1889 and from 1893 to 1897. Cleveland is the only president in American history to serve two nonconsecutive terms in office.

What presidents have not been elected twice?


Term in office President Winning successor
1885–1889 Grover Cleveland Benjamin Harrison
1889–1893 Benjamin Harrison Grover Cleveland
1909–1913 William Howard Taft Woodrow Wilson
1929–1933 Herbert Hoover Franklin D. Roosevelt

How many presidents have served more than one term?

There have been 45 presidential administrations and 44 presidents in the United States. Of the 44 presidents, 13 served for two full terms while 12 served for one full term before leaving office. Seven served more than one term but did not complete their second terms after they died or resigned.

Can a president be elected more than once?

Since the ratification of the Twenty-second Amendment to the United States Constitution in 1951, no person may be elected president more than twice and no one who has served more than two years of a term to which someone else was elected may be elected more than once.

Who was the longest serving President of the United States?

Franklin D. Roosevelt served the longest, over twelve years, before dying early in his fourth term in 1945. He is the only U.S. president to have served more than two terms.

Who was the 38th President of the United States?

Upon the resignation of 37th president Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford became the 38th president even though he simply served out the remainder of Nixon’s second term and was never elected to the presidency in his own right. Grover Cleveland was both the 22nd president and the 24th president because his two terms were not consecutive.

Share this post