What are the three regions in the South Pacific?

What are the three regions in the South Pacific?

While collectively called the South Pacific, these islands are divided into three regions: Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia, each with its own cultural traditions, language variations, and culinary specialties.

How is the Pacific divided?

The main Pacific Islands span the Equator obliquely from northwest to southeast and can be divided into two major physiographic regions by island type: continental and oceanic. Oceanic islands are differentiated as high volcanic-based islands, such as Hawaii, or low coral islands and atolls, such as the Marshalls.

What are the regions of the Pacific Ocean?

The Pacific basin may conveniently be divided into three major physiographic regions: the eastern, western, and central Pacific regions.

What states are in the Pacific region?

The most commonly accepted definition of the Pacific Coast is largely a political one: it defines the region as comprising the U.S. states of California, Oregon, Washington, and Alaska and the Canadian province of British Columbia, formerly a part of the old Oregon Country.

What are the names of the South Pacific Islands?

Outline the three main areas of the South Pacific: Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Distinguish between low islands and high islands. Determine which islands remain under the auspices of France, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, or the United States.

What’s the population of the Pacific States Division?

The Pacific States division of the Western US includes the five US states of Oregon, Hawaii, Alaska, California, and Washington. These states are also the only US states to have coastlines on the Pacific Ocean. The total area covered by this division is 2,318,781 square km. A 2016 estimate suggests the population here to be 52,801,933 people. 3.

How many states are in the South Atlantic region?

Sixteen states and the federal district are included within this region in the subdivisions of the South Atlantic United States, East South United States, and the West South United States.

What are the three major regions of the United States?

Midwest 1 States included: Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, Missouri, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota 2 Climate: Humid continental climate throughout most of the region. 3 Major geographical features: Great Lakes, Great Plains, Mississippi River, borders Canada to the north

Share this post