Users' questions

What is the red American flag called?

What is the red American flag called?

The colors have no special meaning in the flag, but in the coat of arms white stands for purity and innocence, red for bravery and strength and blue for watchfulness, perseverance and justice. The flag is also often called the Stars and Stripes, the Star-Spangled Banner, or Old Glory.

Why are there 7 red stripes on American flag?

Today the flag consists of 13 horizontal stripes, seven red alternating with six white. The colors of the flag are symbolic as well; red symbolizes hardiness and valor, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and blue represents vigilance, perseverance and justice.

Why is the American flag different colors?

Although the colors of the flag did not originally hold a specific meaning, many people have since suggested the significance of the colors. Red represents valor and strength, white represents innocence and purity, and blue represents perseverance and justice. These are the same meanings attributed to the colors of the Great Seal.

What is the meaning of the American flag with red stripe?

The white stripes were said to signify the purity and innocence of the American people, while the red stripes were to represent their hardiness and valor displayed both on the battlefield and off. The blue field which the stars rested on was said to represent vigilance, perseverance, and justice.

What are some facts about the US flag?

The United States flag is one of the most well known flags throughout the world. The flag is unique and easy to recognize thanks to the use of three basic colors: blue, red, and white. The US flag consists of 13 horizontal stripes and a blue rectangle in the left corner with fifty white five-pointed starts.

What does American flag represent?

The American flag is a symbol not only of hardiness, valor, purity, innocence, vigilance, perseverance and Justice; it is a symbol of freedom.

Share this post