What was the first Cricket World Cup called?

What was the first Cricket World Cup called?

The Prudential World Cup
The Cricket World Cup, the top-level and the most important competition in One Day International cricket, was first played in 1975. This tournament, known as The Prudential World Cup, was played in England and was won by the West Indies.

When was the first ICC World Cup held?

June 7, 1975
Cricket World Cup/First event date

What is the old name of ICC?

International Cricket Council
The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the world governing body of cricket. It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from Australia, England and South Africa. It was renamed as the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and took up its current name in 1987.

When was the Cricket World Cup held in South Africa?

Most of the tournaments have been jointly hosted by nations from the same geographical region, such as South Asia in 1987, 1996, and 2011, Australia in 1992 and 2015, Southern Africa in 2003 and West Indies in 2007. England have hosted the most World Cups – a total of 5 (including the first three World Cups).

Where is T20 World Cup 2021 held?

United Arab Emirates
2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup/Location

Which country won most 50 World Cups?

Australia is the most successful team in the competition’s history, winning five tournaments and finishing as runner-up twice. Twice, teams have won successive tournaments: the West Indies won the first two editions (1975 and 1979) and Australia won three in a row (1999, 2003 and 2007).

Where was the first Cricket World Cup held?

In 1975 the first World Cup was contested in England in a series of one-day matches of 60 overs a side (the number of overs was reduced to 50 in 1987). The event was a great success and continued at four-year intervals. It was held outside England, in India….

Who are the teams that have won the Cricket World Cup?

Twenty nations have qualified for the Cricket World Cup at least once. Seven teams have competed in every tournament, six of which have won the title. [12] The West Indies won the first two tournaments, Australia has won five, India has won two, while Pakistan , Sri Lanka and England have each won once.

Who was the first batsman to get hit wicket in cricket?

Roy Fredricks of West Indies was the first batsmen who got hit-wicket in ODI during the 1975 World Cup final. The 1979 World Cup saw the introduction of the ICC Trophy competition to select non-Test playing teams for the World Cup, with Sri Lanka and Canada qualifying.

Where was the first multilateral cricket tournament held?

The first multilateral competition at international level was the 1912 Triangular Tournament, a Test cricket tournament played in England between all three Test-playing nations at the time: England, Australia and South Africa.

Share this post