Which country won the first Cricket World Cup?

Which country won the first Cricket World Cup?

In 1975 the first Cricket World Cup was contested in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side….Cricket World Cup.

year 1979
winner West Indies
score 286–9
runner-up England
score 194

When was first Cricket World Cup held?

June 7, 1975
Cricket World Cup/First event date

Who won the World Cup list?

In cricket world cup winners list, Australia is the most successful country which won 5 World Cups….ICC World Cup Winning Captains List.

Year Winner Captain
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1987 Australia Allan Border
1983 India Kapil Dev
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd

Which country won most over 50 World Cup?

Australia is the most successful team in the competition’s history, winning five tournaments and finishing as runner-up twice. Twice, teams have won successive tournaments: the West Indies won the first two editions (1975 and 1979) and Australia won three in a row (1999, 2003 and 2007).

Where was the first Cricket World Cup held?

The combined Caribbean team, known as the West Indies, won the first tournament beating Australia by 17 runs in the final. Surprisingly, the first Women’s Cricket World Cup was held in England 2 years prior to the men’s tournament in 1973.

Who are the teams that have won the Cricket World Cup?

Twenty nations have qualified for the Cricket World Cup at least once. Seven teams have competed in every tournament, six of which have won the title. [12] The West Indies won the first two tournaments, Australia has won five, India has won two, while Pakistan , Sri Lanka and England have each won once.

Who was the top scorer in the first Cricket World Cup?

New Zealand batsman, Glenn Turner was the top run-scorer for the tournament with 333 runs with Australian bowler Gary Gilmour was the top wicket-taker with 11 wickets . The first multilateral cricket competition at international level was the 1912 Triangular Tournament in England.

When did the West Indies win the Cricket World Cup?

England ended 194 all out, and presented the West Indies with their second consecutive title, winning by 92 runs. Lord’s re-hosted the third World Cup final in June 1983, and was West Indies’ third consecutive final.

Share this post