Why does Congress have to approve interstate compacts?

Why does Congress have to approve interstate compacts?

Congress must explicitly approve any compact that would give a state power that is otherwise designated to the federal government. Most early interstate compacts resolved boundary disputes, but since the early 20th century, compacts have increasingly been used as a tool of state cooperation.

Why would states make an interstate compact?

Through compacts, states can address shared problems, promote a common agenda, and produce collective goods on a wide array of issues such as child welfare, criminal justice, education, health, natural resources, taxation and transportation.

Do interstate compacts require the consent of Congress?

A literal interpretation of the compact clause would conclude all interstate agreements must obtain the approval of Congress before they take effect and carry the weight of law. The Supreme Court, however, has ruled that “any” does not mean “all” in the context of interstate compacts and congressional consent.

What is the Interstate Compact Clause?

COMPACT CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITUTION enter into any Agreement or Compact with another State, or with a foreign Power.” The Compact Clause applies to agreements directed to the formation of any unit that may increase states’ political power encroaching on federal power (Northeast Bancorp, Inc.

What states are not in the Interstate Compact?

The Driver License compact is an interstate compact among 45 states and the District of Columbia. Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin are the only states that are not members. The compact has congressional consent.

Who must approve interstate compacts?

An interstate compact is an agreement between or among two or more states of the United States. To become effective, it must be approved by those states’ respective legislatures and, depending on the subject matter of the compact, consented to by Congress. Interstate compacts are contracts that are negotiated between states.

What states are part of the interstate compact agreement?

A total of seventeen states have adopted the Compact legislation, with Colorado, New Hampshire, Arizona, Kansas, and Mississippi being the most recent. Other states who have passed the compact include Alabama, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, South Dakota, Utah,…

What does United States interstate compact mean?

In the United States, an interstate compact is a pact or agreement between two or more states , or between states and any foreign government. The Compact Clause ( Article I, Section 10, Clause 3) of the United States Constitution provides that “No State shall, without the Consent of Congress ,… enter into any Agreement or Compact with another State, or with a foreign Power,…”

What is an example of interstate compact?

Examples of well-known interstate compacts include the New York-New Jersey Port Authority Compact, the Emergency Management Assistance Compact, the Washington Metro Area Tran- sit Authority Compact, the Multistate Tax Compact and the Southern Dairy Compact.

Share this post